Minimum Wage to Increase January 1

The NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development (LWD) announced that New Jersey’s current state minimum wage of $8.60 will increase to $8.85 on January 1, 2019.

New Jersey statutes require LWD to annually adjust the minimum hourly wage rate based on any increase in the consumer price index (CPI) from August to August of the prior year.

Apart from the current automatic adjustment, a broader minimum wage increase is expected to be passed by the legislature and signed into law before year’s end. 

A $15-an-hour minimum wage was among a number of workplace-related mandates that then gubernatorial candidate Phil Murphy campaigned last year. Gov. Murphy and legislative leaders have acknowledged the need to phase in the full increase over a period of years to not "shock the system.”  

in Legislative & Political News