Minimum Wage Increase Signed into Law, Other Workplace Measures Await Action

As expected, Gov. Phil Murphy Monday signed legislation to increase New Jersey’s minimum wage to $15 an hour.

Measures to expand the state’s paid family leave law (A3975) and require employers to offer pre-tax transportation spending accounts (S1567) also received final legislative approval Thursday and are awaiting the governor’s action. He is expected to approve those bills as well.  

Under the minimum wage bill (A15) the base minimum wage for New Jersey workers will increase to $10 per hour on July 1, 2019. The following year, on January 1, 2020, the statewide minimum wage would increase to $11 per hour, and then would increase by $1 per hour every new year until it reaches $15 hour in 2024.

Some workers will reach the $15 per hour wage later. Seasonal workers and employees at small businesses of five workers or less would reach $15 per hour by January 1, 2026.