Ten State Legislative Vacancies Decided Tuesday

New Jersey state legislative elections are held in even years but Tuesday there were ten special legislative elections, one for the state Senate and nine for the Assembly. These were essentially ratifications of the local Democratic parties’ choices to fill seats that had been vacated over the last year. 

The incumbents, all in “safe” Democratic districts, had been elected by their local party committee members and held office until the next opportunity for a general election. They all won with comfortable margins:

  • LD 5: Assemblyman William Spearman (replaced Arthur Barclay, who resigned);
  • LD 15: Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson and Assemblyman Anthony Verrelli (replaced now Trenton Mayor Reed Gusciora and now state Treasurer Liz Muoio);
  • LD 22: Assemblywoman Linda Carter (replaced Union County Democratic chair Jerry Green, who passed away);
  • LD 32: Assemblyman Pedro Mejia (replaced former Speaker Vincent Prieto, who resigned to take a position at the NJ Sports and Exposition Authority);
  • LD 34: Assemblywoman Britnee Timberlake (replaced now Lt. Governor Sheila Oliver);
  • LD 36: Assemblyman Clinton Calabrese (replaced now Department of Banking and Insurance Commissioner Marlene Caride);
  • LD 38:  Senator Joseph Lagana (replaced Bob Gordon, who was named a Port Authority Commissioner); and
  • LD 38:  Assemblywoman Lisa Swain and Assemblyman Chris Tully (replaced Joe Lagana, who moved up to the Senate to the Senate, and Tim Eustace, who resigned).

Their election was to complete the unexpired term. Each will have to run again next year’s regular legislative elections.