House Republicans Name Ranking Members for 116th Congress

The House Republican Conference chose ranking members for House committees in the 116th Congress last week, with several credit union supporters being named ranking members of notable committees. With Democrats taking control of the House for the next Congress, Democratic lawmakers will chair all House committees, with Republicans serving as ranking members.

“Congratulations to all the committee ranking members chosen today, CUNA looks forward to working with them and their Democratic counterparts to further the interests of America’s credit unions and their 110 million members,” said CUNA President/CEO Jim Nussle.

Ranking members named to notable committees include:

  • Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-N.C.), House Financial Services Committee;
  • Rep. Kevin Brady (R-Texas), House Ways and Means Committee;
  • Rep. Kay Granger (R-Texas), House Appropriations Committee;
  • Rep. Greg Walden (R-Ore.), House Energy and Commerce Committee; and
  • Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.), House Judiciary Committee.

The House Republican Conference conducted their leadership elections earlier electing Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) as House Minority Leader.

In addition, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) named Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-Ga.) as his chief deputy whip for the 116th Congress.

The House Democratic Caucus held their elections last week, nominating Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif) for speaker of the House.