Senate Committee Assignments Finalized for 116th Congress, Menendez to Continue on Banking, Finance Committees

Senate Republicans and Democrats announced and ratified committee assignments for the 116th Congress.

The full list of committee assignments for the Senate Appropriations, Banking, Commerce, Finance and Judiciary Committee can be found on CUNA’s Removing Barriers Blog.

Leadership of Senate committees that have jurisdiction over credit union issues include:

  • Senate Appropriations Committee: Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), chairman and Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), ranking member;
  • Senate Banking Committee: Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), chairman and Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), ranking member;
  • Senate Commerce Committee: Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), chairman and Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.) as ranking member;
  • Senate Finance Committee: Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), chairman and Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), ranking member; and
  • Senate Judiciary Committee: Sen. Lindsay Graham (R-S.C.), chairman and Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), ranking member.

Sen. Bob Menendez (D-NJ) will continue serving on the Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs and Finance committees. Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ) will continue serving on the Judiciary Committee.

Menendez and Booker will both continue serving on the Foreign Relations Committee, Menendez as the ranking member. Booker will continue serving on the Small Business and Entrepreneurship, and the Environment and Public Works committees.