NJ Governor Murphy Marks Statewide Minimum Wage Increase Taking Effect Jul. 1

New Jersey’s Minimum Wage rose to $10/hour July 1. Statewide Minimum Wage Increase Will Ultimately Benefit Over One Million New Jersey Workers. In Trenton, Monday, Governor Phil Murphy lauded New Jersey’s historic increase in the minimum wage from $8.85 per hour to $10 per hour taking effect, July 1st, 2019, putting the state on a path to a $15 minimum wage.

“Today marks a monumental step on our path to a stronger and fairer New Jersey,” said Governor Murphy. “Our economy grows when everyone can participate in it – every hardworking New Jerseyan deserves a fair wage that allow them to put food on the table and gas in their car. Together, we are making New Jersey more affordable and giving over a million New Jerseyans a pathway to the middle class.”

Under the law Governor Murphy signed in February, after today's increase, the statewide minimum wage will continue to increase by $1 per hour every January 1st until it reaches $15 per hour on January 1, 2024.

To read the full story click here.