State Legislative Leadership to Remain Unchanged Following Last Weeks’ Elections

While last week’s state legislative elections offered a few surprises with Republicans picking a Senate seat and at least two Assembly seats, with two other potential pick-ups that have yet to be called officially, Thursday’s legislative leadership elections offered no such drama or surprises with both the Democratic and Republican caucuses re-electing their current leaders for the 219TH Legislature that will convene in January, Senate President Sweeney (D-3), Senate Republican Leader Tom Kean, Jr. (R-21), Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin (D-19) and Assembly Republican Leader Jon Bramnick (R-21).   


Democratic state senators voted unanimously to re-elect Sen. Steve Sweeney (D-3) to a sixth term as Senate president, a decision that will make him the longest-serving leader of the upper chamber in state history. The Democratic caucus also voted to re-elect Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg (D-37) and Senate President Pro Tempore Teresa Ruiz (D-29) to their leadership posts.

Republican state senators unanimously re-elected Sen. Tom Kean Jr. (R-21) to a sixth term as

minority leader, making him the longest-serving leader of the Senate GOP caucus. The caucus also named Sen. Bob Singer (R-30) as deputy minority leader, Sen. Kristin Corrado (R-40) as conference leader and Sen. Chris Brown (R-2) as deputy conference leader. Sen. Steve Oroho (R-24) will serve as budget officer, Sen. Joe Pennacchio (R-26) as whip and Sen. Kip Bateman (R-16) as deputy whip.


Democrats unanimously re-elected Asm. Craig Coughlin (D-19) to a second term as Assembly speaker. They also voted to re-elect Asm. Lou Greenwald (D-6) as majority leader. The caucus re-appointed Asw. Eliana Pintor Marin (D-29) as budget chair and Asm. Gordon Johnson (D-37) as speaker pro tempore, and elevated Annette Quijano (D-20) to majority conference chair.

Republican Assembly members voted unanimously today to keep Asm. Jon Bramnick

(R-21) as minority leader. The Republican caucus also named Bramnick’s running mate, Asw. Nancy Munoz (R-21) and Asm. John DiMaio (R-23) as joint conference leaders. They replace

Anthony Bucco (R-25), who resigned his Assembly seat last month to take his late father’s

Senate seat.

Asm. Ned Thomson (R-20) will replace Munoz as minority whip and Asm. Hal Wirths (R-24) will replace DiMaio as budget officer.