National CU Foundation Announces 2019 Wegner Award Winners

Three to Receive Credit Union Movement’s Highest National Honors

MADISON, Wis. – The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Herb Wegner Memorial Awards. Diana Dykstra and Crystal Long will be recognized with Outstanding Individual Achievement Awards, and Nusenda Credit Union Foundation will be recognized as an Outstanding Organization by the Foundation.

image003The Herb Wegner Memorial Awards will be presented at the annual fundraising gala hosted by the Foundation at the Marriott Marquis on March 11, 2019, in conjunction with the Credit Union National Association Governmental Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C. Registration for dinner sponsorships and tickets will be available on the Foundation Web site ( later this year.

“In our fast-paced world, it’s so important to take the time to celebrate those in our movement who have gone above and beyond to embody the credit union difference,” said Gigi Hyland, the Foundation’s Executive Director. “These awardees truly embody dedication to promoting the credit union philosophy. They have created innovative concepts, and provided leadership that has had significant, lasting, and measurable impact on the credit union movement. We cannot wait to celebrate and honor them at the 2019 Herb Wegner Memorial Awards.”

The Foundation’s awards gala celebrates the highest national honors in the credit union movement. Detailed profiles will be released in the next few weeks of the following 2019 Wegner Award honorees:

  • Outstanding Individual Achievement: Diana R. Dykstra, President/CEO of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues;
  • Outstanding Individual Achievement: Crystal Long, President and CEO of GECU; and
  • Outstanding Organization: Nusenda Credit Union Foundation.